Home > LIFE > Ooni’s Palace Rejoices With Ife Son, Prof Adebambo Over SAN Title

Ooni’s Palace Rejoices With Ife Son, Prof Adebambo Over SAN Title

                                                                                                          Prof Adebambo Adewopo

By Sodiq Lawal

The Director Of Media and Publicity to Ooni of Ife, Comrade Moses Olafare on Friday rejoiced as another son of the source,  Prof Adebambo Adewopo Bagged Senior Advocates of Nigeria(SAN) tittle barely a year after Olusola Ojutayo was conferred with the SAN title, also an indigene of Ile Ife.

In a statement released by Olafare and made available to Ife City News,  “It was Olusola Ojutalayo in 2016, now the turn of Professor Adebambo Adewopo who as announced on Thursday by the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Mrs Hadizatu Mustapha, has been elevated alongside the other 29 newly appointed Senior Advocate of Nigeria SAN by the The Legal Practitioners’

READ ALSO :  Adebayo Faleti, An Unforgettable African Cultural Ambassador - Ooni

Privileges Committee, LLPC”

“He was Born on January 3, 1966 in Ile-Ife to the Royal family of Prince Adedoja Johnson Adewopo and Princess Monilola Dorcas Laoye the first daughter of the late Timi of Ede Kingdom, Oba Adetoyese John Laoye”

“Professor Adewopo, former Director General of Nigeran Copyright Commission, Abuja is a Nigerian law educator, lawyer. Barrister, solicitor of Supreme Court of Nigeria, Recipient Best Poet Award by the Nigerian Literary Writer’s Society in 1987, member International Bar Association, Nigerian Bar Foundation, Telecomm Lawyers Association, member of the Group on Intellectual Property Teaching in Law Faculties in Nigeria, member of the Association of the Advancement Teaching & Research in Intellectual Property”

“He became a Bachelor of Laws with honours from University of Maiduguri in 1987. Barrister- at-Law, Nigerian Law School, Lagos, 1989. Master of Laws, University of Lagos, 1990.Master of Laws in Intellectuale property law, Pierce Law, New Hampshire, 2001”

READ ALSO :  Exonerate Me from Lagos Palace Incident – Ooni

“He started his legal career with Doja Adewopp & Company, Lagos, 1990-1992. He was Assistant Manager, Hogg Robinson Nigeria in1992. A Senior lecturer in law Lagos State University, since 1993, assistant director Law Center, since 1996.Director HPLS Investments, Lagos, since 1977”

“He was appointed as Director General of the Nigerian Copyright Commission in 2004 by President Olusegun Obasanjo succeeding Professor Eyinnaya Nwauche and replaced by Afam Ezekude in 2010. He has since remained with the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS) as an Intellectual property (IP) law specialist till date”

“Among the 29 other lawyers selected from a total of 156 applicants and conferred with the prestigious rank include younger brother to the acting President, Akinlolu Osinbajo who was former Attorney General of Ogun State, Attorney General of Kwara State, Kamaldeen Ajibade, former national Legal adviser of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and gubernatorial candidate of Alliance for Democracy, AD in Ondo State, Chief Olusola Oke, as well the prominent human rights lawyer, Festus Keyamo.

“Others are Chibuike Nwokeukwu, Johnnie Egwuonwu, Bert Chukwuneta  Igwilo, Sylvester Elema, Ikenna Egbuna, Wilcox Abereton, Michael Alliyu, Francis Egele, Prof. Enefiok Essien.Prof. Sadiq Shikyl, Prof. Adedeji Adekunle, Nasser Dangiri,Oluwabe Oluwatoyin Bashorun, Emeka Okpoko, Sani Garun-Gabbas, Abdul Ibrahim, John Odubela, Gboyega Oyewole, Joshua Musa, Ibrahim Mohammed, Ekemejero Ohwovoriole, Oyetola Oshobi, Sulaiman Usman, Kehinde Ogunwumiju and Chiesonu Okpoko.”He said.

READ ALSO :  Eidil- Fitr : Ife Chief Imam Advocates Peace