Home > EDUCATION > Hidden Revelations About OAU Faculty of Education

Hidden Revelations About OAU Faculty of Education

By Adejumo Kabir

Professor A. Babs. Fafunwa was appointed in October 1966 to plan the development of a Department and Faculty of Education at Ife. The first teacher education courses were started in 1967/68 session in the new Department of Education, which was organized as an academic unit in the Faculty of Arts. By October of 1967, the Provisional Council had approved the creation of a Faculty of Education in the University constituting the following four units:

Department of Education

Department of Adult Education (now continuing Education)

Institute of Education; and

School of General Studies

Physical Education, as an academic subject, thrived initially in the Department of Education from 1969/69 till the end of 1972/73 after which the Senate of the University constituted the unit into an autonomous Institute of Physical Education (outside the Faculty of Education) with its own academic board of studies. The Institute has since the 1975/76 session become an integral part of the Faculty of Education while the School of General Studies had been dissolved with effect from July 1, 1976 and the general studies courses offered from the sponsoring faculties. The Faculty of Education has since October 1975 included the Department of Education Technology which was previously an autonomous service unit then known as the Audio-Visual Centre.

By a re-organisation proposed by the Faculty and approved by the Senate, the Department of Educational Foundations and Counselling came into limelight on March 1, 1978. With this new arrangement, the Department of Educational Foundations and counseling is afforded the opportunity to solidify its postgraduate programmes in Philosophy, History, Sociology, Psychology of Education, Comparative Education and Guidance and Counselling. Its objective is to prepare those who chose career in teacher education at all levels and to prepare specialists in all areas of education including research into various aspects of educational practices and existing man-power relations. The Department is assigned all of the foundation courses in Parts II, III, and IV and a few other specialized courses in Sociology of Education, Comparative Education, Guidance and Counselling and History of Nigerian Education.

READ ALSO :  Prof Olu Aina Tasks Ife Youths On Self-Development

The following departments, institutes and units presently constitute the Faculty.

Department of Educational Foundations & Counselling

Department of Continuing Education

Department of Educational Technology

Department of Special Education & Curriculum Studies

Department of Educational Administration & Planning

Institute of Education

Institute of Physical Education

Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo

The initial Ife undergraduate degree structure was an adaptation of the Ashby Commission recommendations on the training of secondary level teachers for Nigeria. It also fits into the combined honours degree programme of the University of Ife. The structure enables a student to offer two approved teaching subjects with education (as an academic and professional subject) in the first two years of a three-year degree programme, and to offer in the final degree year one teaching subject with education to qualify for a classified honours degree in education with specialization in the particular subject area.

READ ALSO :  OAU Begins JUPEB Registration, To Hold Exam in May

Basically, this structure permits students to spend two-thirds of their instructional time concentrating on the two teaching subjects normally offered in the academic departments and the remaining one-third of the time on education in the department of education to complete their professional preparation. With the revised undergraduate programmes as approved by Senate, the Faculty continues to offer a joint Bachelor’s Degree in Education under the course unit system but with only one teaching subject specialization.

The post-graduate programme in education of the Faculty started in September 1969 in the department of education with the introduction of the Masters Degree in Education (M.Ed.), which was a four-term degree with course work, and research in the fields of educational administration and psychology. The M.A./M.Phil/Ph.D. degree programmes replaced the M.Ed degree programme in September 1974. In July 1974 the Long Vacation Sandwich Post-graduate Diploma in Education (P.G.D.E.) Courses were started while new M.A/Ph.D degree replaced the 1974 post-graduate degree structures at the beginning of the 1978/79 session with Senate approval.

The Faculty has as her goal to produce quality, competent and dynamic educators who would be able to contribute immensely and dedicatedly to the steady growth and development of the society in this technological and globalization age. We offer candidates the broad opportunity to study for a degree combining Education with other subject of interest such as Social Sciences (Economic, Political Science, Social Studies, Geography), Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics/ Integrated Sciences, Agricultural Sciences); Fine & Applied Arts as well as Languages ( English, French and other Languages) at undergraduate level.

READ ALSO :  OAU Council Member Appeal For Two Days Suspension of Staff School Teachers Protest

By this, students are exposed to inter-disciplinary learning which affords them to develop a broad outlook and horizon. They also offer Diploma, Post Graduate Diploma in Education (PGDE), Master in Education (M.Ed), Master of Art in Education (M.A.Ed), Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D). The Faculty in collaboration with Centre for Distance Learning of the University runs Part-Time programmes to cater for teachers on- the -job to afford them the privilege of self-actualization and job stability.